New Zealand has announced its 15-player squad for the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 in an effort to improve upon their appearance in the Final in 2019.

Leg-spinner Ish Sodhi, who was named to the squad, attended Papatoetoe High School in Auckland, where New Zealand announced the group on Monday.

The 30-year-old will team up with captain Kane Williamson, who was announced as a squad member this week after recovering more quickly than anticipated from an ACL tear sustained at the 2023 IPL. Tim Southee, a fast bowler, and Williamson have both been selected to play in their fourth World Cup.

Mark Chapman and 23-year-old spin-bowling all-rounder Rachin Ravindra, who claimed 3/48 against England in the first of four ODIs on Friday, have both won spots after a solid run of play in the two white-ball forms.

Young top order batsman Finn Allen and backup wicketkeeper Tim Seifert could not make the squad, and instead Tom Latham was chosen as the only wicketkeeper. Also excluded is Adam Milne, who recently had a hamstring injury while on New Zealand’s tour of England.

Gary Stead, the coach of New Zealand, said that selecting the final roster required some difficult choices, but he is certain that the team’s balance of youth and experience will serve them well in India.

“I’d like to congratulate the 15 players chosen today. Naming a tournament team is always a memorable occasion. Being chosen to represent your nation at a World Cup is an honour, Stead remarked.

“It’s always a very exciting moment, from Kane and Tim travelling to their fourth tournament to the lads selected for the first time.There have been some difficult decisions, as with every squad chosen for an ICC tournament, and some players will be disappointed.

Finding the correct squad balance and making sure we were prepared for what was going to be a fiercely competitive event were the keys for us.

Before facing England once more in a replay of the 2019 Final in the World Cup opener on October 5, the team plays ODI matches against Bangladesh and England.

New Zealand squad: 

Kane Williamson (c),Trent Boult, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, Mitch Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Will Young


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *