asia cup

One of the most well-known cricket competitions in Asia is the Asia Cup. The International Cricket Council (ICC) holds the this Cup every two years. Pakistan and Sri Lanka will host the 16th edition From August 30 to September 17, 2023. 6 teams or Nations will take part in the 2023 this year. India won the first Asia Cup, which was held in the United Arab Emirates in 1984. Sri Lanka finished in second place.

India v Pakistan: Result of Last 5 matches before Asia Cup 2023

Asia Cup Winners List

The 6-nation cricket competition the Asia Cup 2023 will take place in Pakistan and Sri Lanka from August 30 to September 17, 2023. The opening match will take place on August 30, 2023, between Pakistan and Nepal at Multan, Pakistan, and the last match will take place on September 17, 2023. The list of this title winners from 1984 until 2023 is presented in tabular format below. The winning team, runner-up team, and host nation are all listed in the below table.

Asia Cup Winners List from 1984 to 2022
YearWinnerRunner-up  Hosting Country
1984IndiaSri LankaUAE
1986Sri Lanka  PakistanSri Lanka
1988IndiaSri LankaBangladesh
1991IndiaSri LankaBangladesh
1995IndiaSri LankaUAE
1997Sri Lanka  IndiaSri Lanka
2000PakistanSri Lanka Bangladesh
2004Sri Lanka  IndiaSri Lanka
2008Sri Lanka  IndiaPakistan
2010IndiaSri LankaSri Lanka
2012PakistanBangladesh  Bangladesh
2014Sri Lanka  PakistanBangladesh
2016IndiaBangladesh  Bangladesh
2018IndiaBangladesh  UAE
2022Sri Lanka  PakistanUAE
2023Pakistan and      Sri Lanka

Most Asia Cup Winners (Country-wise)

In 15 editions, Team India won the title the most7  times—followed by Sri Lanka (6 times) and Pakistan (2 times). The three remaining nations, Bangladesh, Afghanistan, and Nepal, have not been registered on the list of Asia Cup champions. The winners of the Asia Cup are listed below by country.

Team NameNo. of Times won the TitleRunner-upWinning Year
India731984, 1988, 1991, 1995, 2010, 2016, 2018
Sri Lanka661986, 1997, 2004, 2008, 2014, 2022
Pakistan232000, 2012

Book Here- the Tickets for ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *