The Pakistan Shaheens team has been revealed for the 19th Asian Games in Hangzhou, China. The competition will take place from September 23 through October 8.

All-rounder Qasim Akram, who has never played for Pakistan, has been selected the team’s captain for the Asian Games. The 20-year-old has played in 40 T20 games and 20 first-class matches thus far in his career. In the ICC Men’s U19 Cricket World Cup 2022, he also served as captain of the Pakistani team.

Omair Bin Yousuf, an uncapped hitter, has been chosen as his replacement.

Pakistan, like India, sent a backup team to the Asian Games in place of the forthcoming ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup in 2023.

Asif Ali, Haider Ali, Shahnawaz Dahani, Khushdil Shah, Aamir Jamal, Arshad Iqbal, Mohammad Hasnain, and Usman Qadir are just a few of the players on the Pakistani team with international experience.

Arafat Minhas, Sufiyan Muqeem, Rohail Nazir, Jamal, Iqbal, Bin Yousuf, Akram, and Dahani, among others, have recently appeared frequently for the Pakistan Shaheens team.

Recently, the Shaheens, who are essentially Pakistan’s ‘A’ team, have played in Zimbabwe, Sri Lanka, and Australia. Although they lost the restricted overs series 2-4, they won the two “unofficial” Test matches in Zimbabwe. They defeated India in the championship match to win the ACC Men’s Emerging Asia Cup.

The team will compete in the event starting at the quarterfinal stage, which is slated for October 3 and 4. The semi-finals and championship match will take place on October 6 and 7, respectively. On October 7, there will also be a bronze medal game.

The sole Asian Games appearance for the men’s team from Pakistan came in 2010 in Guangzhou, where they took home the bronze medal.

Pakistan Shaheens squad: Qasim Akram (c), Omair Bin Yousuf (vc), Aamir Jamal, Arafat Minhas, Arshad Iqbal, Asif Ali, Haider Ali, Khushdil Shah, Mirza Tahir Baig, Mohammad Hasnain, Muhammad Akhlaq (wk), Rohail Nazir, Shahnawaz Dahani, Sufiyan Muqeem and Usman Qadir.

Non-traveling reserves: Abdul Wahid Bangalzai, Mehran Mumtaz, Mohammad Imran Jr, Muhammad Irfan Khan Niazi and Mubasir Khan.

Also Read: Qasim Akram- अनकैप्ड ऑलराउंडर एशियाई खेलों में PAKISTAN पुरुष टीम का नेतृत्व करेंगे

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *